About Us

Welcome to the Imaging & Microscopy journals weblog, published by GIT Verlag, A Wiley Company in Darmstadt, Germany. The place for all the latest news from the microscopy community. By including event reports, business news and scientific notifications we provide you with important information from science and industry.

To read the current issues of the international print publications of GIT Verlag, please visit our e-papers on:

Imaging & Microscopy
BIOforum Europe

G.I.T. Laboratory Journal Europe
Screening – Trends in Drug Discovery

As Imaging & Microscopy works in close conjunction with an international expert advisory board we are always well informed on current issues and new market trends in all fields of modern microscopy and imaging.

We are proud to introduce the members of the Imaging & Microscopy advisory board:

Prof. Alberto Diaspro, Italy
Alberto Diaspro is Professor of Physics and Biophysics at the Department of Physics of the University of Genoa, director of an IFOM – FIRC Oncology Institute, Milan – research program. Furthermore he is member of the Institute of Biophysics of the National Research Council (CNR) and the Neuroscience and Brain Technology Department of the Italian Institute of Technology (IIT), President of the European Biophysical Societies‘ Association (EBSA), and member of the International Relations Committee of the Biophysical Society.

Dr. Colm Durkan, UK
Colm Durkan is a lecturer in Nanotechnology at the University of Cambridge, and is based in the Nanoscience Centre and at the Engineering Department. He has published over 30 articles in peer-reviewed journals, has given over 30 invited talks at international conferences, and is on the editorial board of Ultramicroscopy.

Dr. Markus Dürrenberger, Switzerland
Markus Dürrenberger leads the Microscopy Center at the University of Basel (ZMB). He is president of the Swiss Society for Optics and Microscopy (SSOM). His work focuses on the application and the instrumental development of modern microscopy.

Dr. Roland Fleck, UK
Roland Fleck is a Principal Scientist employed as head of the Biological Imaging and Assay Development Section at the National Institute for Biological Standards and Control. He is a registered clinical scientist and specialist in freeze fracture / freeze etch preparation of tissues.

Prof. Min Gu, Australia
Min Gu is Vice President of the International Commission for Optics and of the International Society for Optics Within Life Science (OWLS). He is the author of two textbooks and more than two hundred internationally refereed papers. Min Gu is University Distinguished Professor, Professor (Chair) of Optoelectronics and Director of the Centre for Micro- Photonics and Node Director of the Australian Research Council Centre of Excellence for Ultrahigh-bandwidth Devices for Optical Systems.

Prof. Bert Hecht, Germany
Bert Hecht received a research professorship from the Swiss National Science Foundation in 2001 which allowed him to start an independent research group at the University of Basel where he became a member of the National Competence Center for Research in Nanoscale Science (NCCR Nano). Since October 2006 Bert Hecht is associate professor at the Physics Institute, Experimental Physics 5, of the University of Würzburg.

Prof. Dr. Martin Hegner, Ireland
Martin Hegner was elected as one of the project leaders of the National Center of Competence in Research Nanoscale Science at the University of Basel and was involved in teaching Nanoscale Bioscience. In October 2007 he moved his research team to the Center for Research on Adaptive Nanostructures and Nanodevices (CRANN) at the Trinity College Dublin, Ireland where is appointed associate Professor and Principal Investigator and affiliated at the School of Physics.

Prof. Fu-Jen Kao, Taiwan
Fu-Jen Kao is currently the chairman of the Institute of Biophotonics Engineering at National Yang-Ming University. He is also serving as the Associate Dean in the Research and Development Office at Yang-Ming. Fu-Jen Kao is a member of the SPIE, the Optical Society of America, the Royal Microscopy Society, the Physics Society of R.O.C., and is currently a member of the Focus on Microscopy committee.

Prof. Dr. Norbert Kruse, Belgium
In 1987, after qualifying as a university lecturer at the Technische Universität Berlin, Germany, Norbert Kruse joined the Department of Chemical Engineering at the ETH Zurich, Switzerland. In 1994, he was appointed to a professorship in the Chemistry department of the Université Libre de Bruxelles, Belgium (ULB). After reconstruction at the ULB in 2000, Norbert Kruse now holds the chair of Chemical Physics of Materials (Catalysis-Tribology).

Dr. Daniela Nicastro, USA
Daniela Nicastro is a Post-doctoral Research Fellow at the Boulder Laboratory for 3D Electron Microscopy of Cells, Department of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology, University of Colorado, CO, USA. Her work is focused on investigating the 3D structure of frozen-hydrated and freeze-substituted axonemes by applying high resolution electron tomography for a better understanding of the molecular mechanisms underlying the flagellar stroke.

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Rudolf Reichelt, Germany
Rudolf Reichelt is the Managing Director of the Institute for Medical Physics and Biophysics at the University of Münster, Germany. Previously, he was elected Vice-President (2000 – 2001) and President (2002 – 2003) of the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Elektronenmikroskopie (DGE).

Dr. Jens Rietdorf, Switzerland
Jens Rietdorf is shared head of the Facility for Advanced Imaging & Microscopy (FAIM) at the Friedrich Miescher Institut (FMI) in Basel, Switzerland. During seven years before joining the FMI, he helped setting up the Advanced Light Microscopy Facility (ALMF) at the European Molecular Biology Laboratories (EMBL) in Heidelberg, Germany.

Dr. Patrick Schwarb, Switzerland
Patrick Schwarb is head of the imaging facility at the Friedrich Miescher Institut (FMI) in Basel which is part of Novartis Research Foundation. As board member of Swiss Society of Optics and Microscopy (SSOM) and European Light Microscopy Initiative (ELMI) he helps to setup a powerful network in the field of microscopy and imaging.

Prof. George A. Stanciu, Romania
George A. Stanciu is Director of Center of Microscopy- Microanalysis and Information Processing, founded by him in 2002. He has been working in the laser scanning microscopy field since 1974. In 1977, his group reported the first scanning digital system, which was successfully used for various investigations on different semiconductor devices.

Prof. Ing.Giovanni Valdrè, Italy
Giovanni Valdrè works at the Department of Earth and Geo-Environmental Sciences of the University of Bologna, Italy, where he lectures on Mineral Materials Sciences in the Faculty of Sciences and on Biomaterials for the Faculty of Engineering. He authored and co-authored more than 110 international papers, and about 200 national and international conference proceedings. He is author of university text books on Measurement Methodologies.

Dr. Timo Zimmermann, Spain
Timo Zimmermann is the head of the Advanced Light Microscopy Unit at the Center for Genomic Regulation in Barcelona, Spain. His work is focused on imaging applications for cell biology and developmental biology and on the development of modern light microscopy methods.

Kommentar verfassen

Trage deine Daten unten ein oder klicke ein Icon um dich einzuloggen:


Du kommentierst mit Deinem WordPress.com-Konto. Abmelden /  Ändern )

Google Foto

Du kommentierst mit Deinem Google-Konto. Abmelden /  Ändern )


Du kommentierst mit Deinem Twitter-Konto. Abmelden /  Ändern )


Du kommentierst mit Deinem Facebook-Konto. Abmelden /  Ändern )

Verbinde mit %s

%d Bloggern gefällt das: